Wishing Stars and Numbers

The Wishing Star Project has been operational for 34 days. The project page has been viewed 529 times by people from 15 countries. Number of wishes left: 169.

This is what 169 stars look like.

They cover an area of approximately 645 square centimetres or 100 square inches.

I need 220 times this many wishes at a minimum. I want people who walk the labyrinth  to know that they are walking among tens of thousands of wishes from people all over the world.

You can see that there is a major difference between number of views and number of wishes. Less than one third of the page views result in a wish. I know that some people have been most helpful and left several wishes, so the real situation is somewhat worse than the numbers show.

I need you to make a wish, and I need you to pass on the link. If one person left one wish, then told two friends about it, and those friends each left a wish, and told two friends, and so on, and so on, I would have more than 1,267,650,600,228,229,401,496,703,205,376 wishes by now. This phenomenon is called exponential growth. (It is what you would like to happen to your retirement fund.)

I have worked on long term projects before: it took 365 evenings to make the 40,000 or so paper beads for Language Barrier’s 22 metre (72 foot) rope, and another 3  months of evenings to sew the beads together.

photo by David G. Miller

photo by David G. Miller

I can fold about 40 stars in an hour. Working evenings 5 days a week I can fold 26,000 stars in a year, so I can easily produce 40,000 or so stars for the installation if I have enough wishes to fill the stars.

If you are reading this and have left a wish, thank you … and please feel free to leave another. If you are reading this and haven’t left a wish, please go here and leave one now. Personal or universal — no wish is too trivial, no wish is too large. (A number of people have wished for World Peace, which is certainly a big one. The more people who genuinely wish for that, the better!) 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in altered books, artist's books, book arts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wishing Stars and Numbers

  1. Hilke says:

    I am one of those who left several wishes. And I made my family members to leave wishes as well. – I guess you can pick the wishes of 3 year olds from the lot 🙂 I imagine it will be hard to keep people coming here. Maybe give us a really good pic that challenges people to share, and I will give it (another) try at Facebook. Maybe something like you holding the jar with 160 wishing stars in an empty room, having a sign at your feet with the words: Let us try and see whether we can fill this room with wishing stars. Make a wish and then share this photo. – And then add information about the project in the image description. You will probably want to go viral…

    Like

Leave a Reply

