Alphabet Collecting 1

I have mentioned before my lifelong love of alphabets and alphabet books. It will not surprise you that I have a small collection of alphabet books. I also collect alphabets in other forms.

I collect odd pages from damaged and discarded books.

I collect old printing sets,

 

and newer ones (which are not nearly as much fun).

 

I also collect other devices for reproducing the letters of the alphabet.

Come back next Sunday and see more of the collection!

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in book arts, typography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Alphabet Collecting 1

  1. Lovely collection.
    I had one of these rubber letter printing systems. I remember playing a little with it and being quickly frustrated by the amount of sorting and detail work went into achieving a mediocre result. Well, I had nothing I wanted to print in multiple, and for a single copy the typewriter being the smarter option, no doubt. (I had a fancy electronic one which remembered a whole line before printing it, which meant I could do corrections without using up too much correction tape!)
    Now I wish I still had the set, but I have no idea what happened to it. Most likely my Mum put it in the trash at some point.

    The first page reminds me of the collection of exercises I have here for to learn to write advertisement on blackboard. Examples are something like “potatoes, totay 1/2 pound only 5p” or “today’s special: pumpkin soup”.

    Like

  2. Lestaret says:

    I’m glad to find a kindred spirit. I too collect all things typographic and alphabetical and have a similar collection of lettering stamps and kits – https://lestaret.wordpress.com/tag/john-bull/ and there are many other examples littered through my blog. I’ve just found your blog via the wordpress reader (it was a post on the maps and stamps book that drew me in.) A beautiful book with lots of depth and detail. I’m guessing that it’s about 10cm square judging by the size of the stamps. It’s the kind of artists book that I long to handle and explore. Lovely work.

    Like

    • Byopia Press says:

      Thanks for the kind words! Yes, ‘G is for Geography’ was 10 cm square by 7.25 cm deep. Unfortunately, I don’t even get to play with it anymore as I sold all copies. I did a second edition in codex format which is nice, but not quite as interactive. ;] I recently returned from a trip to Toronto where I acquired a few more things alphabetical, so there will likely be a third post on my alphabet collection sometime in the future. (And I have yet to even broach the subject of fonts!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

