Alphabet Collecting 2

My alphabet collection has grown to include some less traditional means of reproducing text. I collect letter punches like these:

and I collect other ways of cutting letters.

Who doesn’t like cookies? Cookies shaped like letters are even better since you can spell out messages — at least until people start eating!

I have big ones

and little ones.

Someday I plan to do an artist’s book with these

and another with these.

Since there might be problems preserving a book with lettering made from alphabet noodles, I plan to use photographs to reproduce the text. (I do note that I have had this box for more than two years, and despite living in an old house that has regular visits from mice and occasional problems with mildew, nothing has damaged the noodles so far!)

My collection also extends to things that aren’t strictly alphabetical, like Chinese character rubber stamps

and punctuation and other glyphs in the form of push pins and magnets

and tights.

People think it’s funny that I have alphabetized my spice shelves in the pantry.

How else would I find anything?!

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, typography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Alphabet Collecting 2

  1. Your gallery is lacking Russisch Brot (“Russian Bread”, I don’t know whether there is an english name for it): http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Russisch_Brot
    We love it and eat it a lot. Eating one’s name has been a common game with me and my sisters.

    Like

Leave a Reply

