A Birdwatcher’s Colouring Book Alphabet

Since I posted a typographic video on Friday, I thought I would show you  an alphabet book today. A Birdwatcher’s Colouring Book Alphabet combines my interest in natural history with my love of alphabet books.

When choosing the birds for the alphabet I decided that it should only contain birds I have actually seen. Wherever possible the images were produced from my own photographs or sketches. In a couple of cases I stretched the rules a bit and used Latin descriptive terms rather than actual bird names.

Since these were the first and last birds the words produce a certain symmetry.

Many of the birds that I chose for the book are relatively common where I live. I don’t necessarily see them often, but I do see them regularly.

The letter presented the problem it often does when selecting things for alphabet books, but I got around it in two ways. I chose a word that starts with the sound of the letter X. I chose a bird that I have seen (in the Oxford University Museum of Natural History) although it is stuffed. (You can take a virtual tour of the museum here and see him for yourself.)

David and I once spent a whole afternoon in the museum collecting images for every letter of the alphabet, so sometime in the future there may be a museum alphabet book.

Because I like to put jokes in my work, there was one other rule for selecting birds for this book. Can you guess what it is?

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Birdwatcher’s Colouring Book Alphabet

  1. Robyn says:

    These look great Cathryn. I share your interest in birds and text so am loving the result. Great little project.

    Like

  2. I like the idea to do a “colouring in” book with that topic. No idea what your extra rule/joke could be. I am totally illiterate when it comes to birds (or other wildlife or fauna, I am afraid).

    Like

Leave a Reply

