The ME Ching

Inspiration for a book can come from many places.

My sister used to live near China Town in Toronto. While visiting I once spent an afternoon wandering in and out of the various shops on Spadina. Many of them had shiny new Lucky Coins for sale in garlands knotted together with red silk cord, but one shop had a cardboard box of used coins on the counter. Not knowing what I would ever use them for I bought a handful. A year later I was buying paper in Vancouver and spotted some red Chinese mulberry paper with a gold stamped Lucky Coin design. I purchased some just because I thought it was attractive.

Sometime later, after a series of discussions about contemporary attitudes with my husband and a couple of friends, the idea for The ME Ching started to take shape.

The title page features the two sides of a Chinese Lucky Coin.

The text is written in a formal, quasi-academic style and contains a brief history of I Ching including interpretations of some of the hexagrams. All of the hexagrams are shown down the sides of the pages.

The final page spread has a set of instructions for performing the ME Ching and a pocket (remember the coin purse?) containing one Chinese Lucky Coin.

So a book came from finding some coins in a Chinese shop in Toronto.

Feel free to use the instructions from The ME Ching. (It will work with whatever coin you happen to have handy.)

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, Design and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The ME Ching

  1. Lestaret says:

    A lovely little book. I like the random connectivity of these elements and how you combined them into the ME Ching. I bet if feels great too – that mulberry paper is gorgeous. Is this a one off or editioned?

    Like

Leave a Reply

