Alphabet Collecting 3

It’s still the holiday season with all that has entailed: the making of some presents, the wrapping of all of them, the social engagements. Meanwhile I still have to complete two pieces for an exhibition that is to be hung in about two weeks, so I am resorting to another alphabet collecting post.

We made a trip to Canada’s West Coast in September, so of course I visited a number of art supply stores in Vancouver. I came home with this lettering guide set.

Then in late October I went to Toronto and had a few days to look in shops before and after my opening and workshop at Typology.

I found some mini sticky tabs,

and some number-shaped paperclips (I also seem to have ‘a thing’ for paperclips),

and, best of all, a brass stencil/bookmark.

I would never use it for a bookmark as the thickness of the brass would deform pages, but it is a lovely object and functions well as a stencil.

In December there were trips to the dollar store at home to buy odds and ends for Christmas packages, and I succumbed to a few more purchases: stick-on foam letters

and letter stickers and sequins.

Then came Christmas and a lovely surprise. A friend gave me six sets of tiny alphabet stamps.

Each stamp block is .25 inches (0.6 cm) across. I am thoroughly delighted.

I hope everyone has had a good Christmas. Thank you to all the people who came and looked at the Snowy Owl, and special thanks to all those who contacted me to say they liked it. All my best wishes for 2015. 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

