Halves and Honeycombs and Happy New Year

I have been writing posts for half a year and this is post #50  which is half of a hundred. I have completed 5 1/2 gallons of stars for The Wishing Star Project. Here’s a picture of the  half gallon.

The honeycomb in the post title refers to one of the books I have been working on.

I made a honey-comb-shaped insert for a box. It will hold rolled up strips of paper on which are printed words from different languages for honey and beeswax and honeycomb.

The first step in making the honeycomb was to score and fold the sheets of paper.

Four sheets were glued together, then cut into strips.

Finally, multiple strips were glued together.

When fitted into the box, the honeycomb is compressed into a more uniform shape. I will post pictures of the completed work after the show opens in mid-January.

And finally, Happy New Year to everyone, with all my best wishes for your good health and happiness in 2015. Don’t forget: if you have any special New Year wishes, you can leave them here.

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Halves and Honeycombs and Happy New Year

  1. I am happy to read that your wishing star project is coming along! The honeycombs look interesting. Reminds me of last year’s freeze dried bees. Looking forward to reading what comes next. Happy new year!

    Like

    • Byopia Press says:

      Yes, the wishing star project is slowly coming along. The freeze dried bees from last winter were not a success I’m afraid. Perhaps I will write a post about that sometime. A happy New Year to you too!

      Like

Leave a Reply

