The Interconnection of Time and Tide

It is now two weeks since I mentioned not having this book finished. It still isn’t. I don’t really have any excuse other than the fact that other important things, like having naps (we are having a heat wave) and playing with our new cat, keep getting priority. The book is nearing completion, so I thought I would at least post some pictures of Work in Progress.

Every year we receive a lunar calendar for Christmas. We hang it on the pantry door and it enables us to settle arguments as to whether the moon is really full. They are too lovely to discard, so I have been saving them. When we love your books posted this year’s call for entry with the theme Ebb and Flow, I thought it would be a perfect opportunity to do something with a few of them. The image shows part of one already folded for an accordion book.

Not just any accordion book: I am making a variation on a Flat-Style Australian Reverse Piano Hinge binding. Alisa Golden has re-named it the Australian Piano Hinge, and has instructions on her blog. Rather than using the hinge to connect signatures, I am interlocking two accordions. Here are two lunar calendars pre-folded to form the base accordion, a printed tide chart which will form the inner hinge, and half the pattern for some stitching.

After scoring, folding, and trimming the tide chart, I cut out a pattern based on a map of tide pools on a stretch of rocky coast.

When the book is assembled, the strips of paper that lock the hinge in place will show through the holes. The stitching on the lunar calendar is well underway. Here’s an image of the first panel partly completed.

The sewing pattern is based on a map of the littoral zone along a stretch of sandy beach.

Next week I will post pictures of the finished book, along with images showing how it all fits together.

No, really!

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, maps and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Interconnection of Time and Tide

  1. mary kritz says:

    Looking forward to seeing the finished product of this very interesting project. Next week, yes? :>)

    Like

  2. Looks good! – I failed to come up with anything interesting for We Love Your Books… I hope you managed to finish in time, and I am looking forward to seeing more – tonight?

    Like

    • Byopia Press says:

      Finished and sent off the form and the images. (Three never seems to be enough with my books, but that’s what was allowed.) News of acceptance/rejection won’t come until the end of July. Another post about the book on Sunday.

      Like

Leave a Reply

