Datura

I have had two pieces of good news in the past week or so: The Interconnection of Time and Tide was accepted into ebb and flow —this year’s online exhibition by we love your books— and my dealers, Vamp and Tramp, sold a couple of my books to Emory University. I will post a link to the online ebb and flow exhibition when it goes up in August, and today’s post is about one of the books that sold.

Datura started when I took some photographs of the spectacular flowers in my garden.

I made some composite images (heavily modifying the original photographs in Photoshop) and assembled them in InDesign to create an accordion and a case. I added some moths and an original poem.

The poem is a pantoum  variation.

I chose the pantoum form because its recursive structure recalls the looping flight of moths. I also laid out the text on paths to mimic the routes moths might take from blossom to blossom.

Here are a couple of screen shots of the book layout.

And here are a close-up of the book open and closed (you can just see part of the front cover at the bottom of the image) and a picture of two of the cases, showing the front and the back.

The opening/closing of the case mimics the way a datura flower unfurls as it opens.

The book as a whole is an attempt to capture the feeling of a hot summer night with the smell of the night-opening blossoms filling the air.

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, Design and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Datura

  1. dinahmow says:

    Funny, but one of my tasks today is to plant the last of my potted Daturas. Your book is lovely and yes, the case is a perfect mimic of these flowers.

    Like

  2. lcmt says:

    I have a respectful fondness for our local species of datura, the Jimson weed. I am always absurdly pleased when I see it blooming along the road when I am commuting to work. I think, “Look at that. A powerful hallucinogenic drug is just lying there along the public highway. It’s like I’m in Oz.”

    Like

    • Byopia Press says:

      I have a fantasy of planting a poison garden some day: first thing up in the spring would be lily of the valley. Some of the plants (like rhubarb) might actually be used for food. As long as you eat the right parts.

      I think I will stick to smelling the daturas!

      Liked by 1 person

      • lcmt says:

        We used to grow opium poppies. They were fringed double blossoms, rather raggedy, an old cultivar , quite tall, the color was pepto bismol pink. I always wanted to grow foxglove and monkshood for their gothic romance qualities, but our dry climate is not suitable.

        Like

  3. Pingback: Four Flaps, Three Ways | Byopia Press

Leave a Reply

