Stitched

On September 13th I posted Odds and Ends because “Fall Fever” makes it hard for me to work. We are having a lovely extended autumn, so working continues to be difficult.

I want to be outside enjoying the sun before it goes away for the winter. I did manage to complete a piece for the Handwave Gallery exhibition that opens this Sunday. The show is called Of The Hand, and features work by regular gallery artists. (You might check for images after October 29: the gallery owner only posts images after the show is over. The logic is that people have to come and see the show while it is on, they can’t just Google it!)

I mentioned my piece before. This is the centre panel (shown from the back) after stitching and cutting.

I sewed it first and cut after. The paper is more stable before cutting, but if I make a mistake while cutting it means I have wasted all the hours of sewing. I was fortunate, and that didn’t happen!

More pictures of the process: part of the hands drawn and pierced.

The upper part of the left hand part way through sewing.

And here’s a quick shot of the piece assembled before framing.

Much of the time these days I am outside enjoying things like this:

the colours of the crabapples that I will knock down in winter for the coyotes,

and the colour of the maple east of the house.

While not the brilliant red of the sugar maples I grew up with in the East, it’s pretty good.

Biking or walking down our driveway that looks like this.

I am still working on the CBBAGSask swap book. That is, I am still thinking about it! And I am still working a minimum of four hours a day on The Wishing Star Project. Don’t forget to leave me a wish.

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in art, Design and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stitched

  1. Hilke says:

    What a lovely and intriguing piece with the hands and the stiching. I like the muted colours as well as the motif as such…
    And you have some beautiful autumn colours there. We went out this weekend with the kids, trying to find some colourful leaves and conkers and the like for them to bring in to school, but here nature doesn’t seem to be quite far enough for them to be found.

    Like

    • Byopia Press says:

      Glad that you like the piece. I was pleased with how it turned out. The colours of the embroidery floss I used are actually a little more muted than they appear in the picture, but I pushed the contrast so that more detail would show.
      We have had several nights with frost, which brings on the leaf colour. Perhaps it hasn’t yet been cold enough where you are to bring on the autumn change.

      Like

Leave a Reply

