Life in the Big City Part Two

 

One of the highlights of my visit to Toronto was the chance to attend a presentation by Jeff Peachey. I thought of referring to it as a lecture, but that would be inadequate terminology. It was also not a standard PowerPoint presentation: more images, and when ones with text came up, Jeff did not read the text to the audience off the screen.  Edward Tufte would have been pleased. (Sorry about the poor image of Jeff: he was sitting backlit against a window waiting for people to seat themselves. I might have salvaged more from the picture if I were not just working on an iPad!)
The lecture was held at the Faculty of Information, a title that I find both funny and slightly creepy.

  
It is close to a number of my favourite book places in Toronto:

the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library,

   

 and the Lillian H. Smith branch of the Toronto Public Library, which has a wonderful special collection of children’s books. I have visited the collection on previous trips, and even when I don’t have the time to go and check the current displays, I like to walk past the carvings on either side of the front entrance.

   
 
I knew I wasn’t going to have supper until fairly late, so I stopped at one of the food trucks on St. George. I have a passion for French fries which I only indulge while travelling. $2.50 got me a container of fries so large that this is what I left behind.

  
If you only have time to visit one small book-related area in Toronto, (even if Jeff Peachey isn’t there too), I can’t think of a better combination than the Lillian H. Smith and Fisher Libraries. And you won’t have to worry about starving either!

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

