Friday Night Flicks: Jeff Peachey

I thought I would return to a bookbinding (sort of) theme for this week’s Friday Night Flick. As an introduction to his talk Pulled to Pieces: Life as an Independent Book Conservator, (which I attended at the Faculty of Information on October 21 in Toronto), Jeff Peachey showed this video.

He was hired to portray a bookbinder in an ad for the Samsung Note, a large-screen cellphone that can be written or drawn on with a stylus. The ad was shot, not in Jeff’s work space, but in a warehouse set up the way the art director thought a bindery should look. See how many wrong things you can spot going on in the 1.05 minutes it takes the ad to run!

 

It has turned into early winter here. I hope it is nicer where you are this weekend.

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in book arts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday Night Flicks: Jeff Peachey

  1. I doubt that the weather here is nice, but I am petty sure that it is warmer 🙂
    I saw the video when Jeff let the Book Arts List know the link. Although I think the whole atmosphere in the video is not quite right, with the large room, full of cast iron machinery, and then the lonely bookbinder (who apparently also is a printer), I still like it (and the atmosphere it generates).

    Like

    • Byopia Press says:

      Yes, it has a nice feel to it, though it has Jeff doing a number of things that he would never do in real life. The art director was probably correct in creating what the average viewer might imagine a bindery to be like rather than re-creating an actual bindery. ; ]

      Like

Leave a Reply

