Timely Activities

I went to a craft fair yesterday: it’s that season of the year when there is one pretty much every weekend from now until mid-December. I was one of the founding members of the Artisans’ Craft Market about forty years ago, and it was a great pleasure to go as a visitor instead of as a producer!

One of the things I used to make for Christmas craft sales was desk top calendars.

One of the designs each year has been based on photographs of our travelling companion Beeston. (You may remember him from an earlier post.) I now just make an annual Beeston calendar to give as a Christmas present. Since I don’t want to give away this year’s surprise, here’s a sample cover from an earlier edition.

This week I selected images and prepared the layout with the months laid out for 2016.

I just have to finish processing and sizing the images, then I can plug them into the appropriate blank on the layout and I will be ready to print.

I have also done more work on the light-themed swap book. I have done some research

and, with the help of InDesign, done some tests.


The initial test measurements will work for the inner paper of the final structure, but I will have to make the outer part a bit larger so that everything will fit together when completed.

The calendars should be completed and ready for mailing this week. I have no idea how far I will get with the swap book!

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, Design and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

