Picking papers

The calendars are all printed, and I have done more work on the swap book, but since I don’t want to show either of those projects just yet, I thought I would write about paper today instead. I photographed some of the drawers in my paper storage as illustrations and will scatter those images throughout the post, but most of the papers that I use are white.  ; ]

The first image is a selection of paste papers by Susan Kristoferson.

I buy coloured/patterned/handmade papers for special projects or, to be honest, just because I like them. Sometimes people give me papers that they think I will find interesting. The top paper in the next image (and the inspiration for this post) was given to me by my friend Monique who bought it on a recent trip to Korea. (She is not sure whether the hair inclusions are from cattle or horses. The man who sold her the paper spoke no English and apparently didn’t draw clearly either.) I will have to think of a special project for it.

I use coloured papers for endpapers, covers, and cover decorations. My largest stock of papers is white and I have three that I keep on hand. The one I use most often is Cougar 100% acid free 80# text. It is from Domtar and contains 10% post-consumer recycled material. It is a relatively opaque paper with no show-through when used either for colour laser or archival pigment printing.

My second stand-by is Cougar 100# Cover. This is what I used to print the calendars. It meets the same archival and recycling standards as the text paper, takes either laser or pigment printing well, and is stiff enough to be used for small containers as well as for covers. I sometimes use it as an interior stiffener for covers when doing either Japanese-style or pamphlet stitched bindings.

My third standard paper is Legion Domestic etching. Acid free and 175 gsm, it comes in a yellowy cream colour. I use this for projects where I want a heavier page weight. It is also suitable for certain types of covers. I only use the pigment printer with this paper because the surface texture is unsuitable for laser printing.

I order the etching paper directly from Legion in the United States. The Cougar papers I purchase locally through a small print shop. I purchase the largest sheets that my cutter will handle, then cut to smaller sizes for specific projects.

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in book arts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

