Ends and Odds

The first order of business for today’s post is a report on the draw for two copies of A Portrait of the Artist as a Shadow of Her Former Self. By the midnight deadline on Wednesday there were six people in the draw. (There had been thirty-one views of the post by the deadline.) I wrote the names out on scraps of paper.

I crumpled the papers into little balls, placed them in a shallow bowl, then my lovely assistant, Kemuri, selected two. (She was rewarded by being permitted to play with the remaining entries after I retrieved the winners.)

I addressed the packets and took them to the post office and mailed them. Thursday afternoon I emailed all entrants with the results.

Things are progressing with the new toy: David designed and installed a safety latch so that the cutter handle is locked in place. The latch is screwed to a ledge and a structural beam, and features a clever wedge-shaped block which prevents the handle from being accidentally slid sideways. One has to lift the latch end up and out to move it to the right to free the cutter handle for use.

He has also completed a blade removing jig and a carrier so that we can take the blade to the grinder’s for a much needed sharpening.

Finally, I completed another gallon of wishing stars this week.

I am planning to take a short break from writing wishes and folding stars until after Christmas, so I can get some other things done! I have already scheduled a seasonal video for the Friday Night Flick on December 25 —if you have a few minutes to spare— and I am hoping to have another DIY project to post on the 27th.

Until then, all the best holiday wishes to my readers!

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ends and Odds

  1. vdbolyard says:

    this is a hoot! your kitty has very good taste!

    Like

  2. All the best for the holidays as well! Such a helpful assistant!

    Like

  3. Congrats to the winners! I hope you had some happy holidays yourself. Well done on the stars project. Sounds like you are getting somewhere. New Year’s should be a good season for harvesting wishes 🙂

    Like

  4. Byopia Press says:

    Yes, I am once again harvesting wishes. Writing and folding start again next week when I have finished the sweater I have been knitting in the evenings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

