Winter Candles

I mentioned in a coupled of previous posts (Another Pyramid Box and Two Enclosures) that I have been working on a swap book. The big exchange took place on January 9, 2016, so I can now show you my book without spoiling the surprise.

The book is called Winter Candles. It tells a short story about candles and Christmas Eve when I was a child, and it comes with extras.

Here are some of the copies before sewing to the accordion-folded spines,

text-block-and-mount2

and here are some of the additional parts of the work.

more-parts-scoredfolded1

The accordion spine was necessary to allow room for the envelope attached to the back cover. Here are some images of the assembly process.

sewing1The envelope contains pre-cut and scored paper parts to make a candle holder and a balloon for making an ice luminary. The last few pages of the book give instructions.

The completed book was tied with ribbon to a pyramid box containing an LED candle. (See first image.)

As is often the case, I was helped in the photographic process by my lovely assistant.

lovely-assistant1

And here is the box full of wonderful books (or book-like objects) that I received in return for the books I made.

swap-books2

My apologies for being a bit late posting again this week. I could blame it on the fact that I was called upon as plumber’s assistant a couple of times, but the real reason is that WordPress has finally forced me to use their “new and improved” format, which I —of course— despise for a number of reasons.

(I hate learning experiences.)

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, Design and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Winter Candles

  1. Wonderful idea and intriguing completion. I like how you solved the problem of how to integrate the larger envelope. Thanks for sharing! The paper used seems so very appropriate, too. And what a wonderful box of treats to go through.

    Like

Leave a Reply

