The Cupboard

We (David and I and our lovely assistant, Kemuri) live in an odd little house. To get to the study (also our guest room) from the dining room, you must pass through a bathroom. The west end of the bathroom used to contain a clothes closet with a storage cupboard above it. After a trip to IKEA and a lot of work by David, it now contains useful drawers and shelves and looks like this:

To give you some idea of what it was like before, here’s the cupboard (with doors removed)

and the interior shelving in the closet (with the lovely assistant).

The new cupboard means that I have been able to move things that never had a proper home into a more useable location. Some of them came from here (in the kitchen),

and now live here in the two bottom drawers.

I also have seven shallow drawers where I can store things like paints and printing inks and supplies.

The re-organisation process will likely continue for a while as I gradually collect things from the random locations around the house where they have been living. The set-up is wonderful as not only can I keep things in one location, I can see everything and retrieve what I need without having to move 27 other things first. (I have been able to spread out baking dishes and such in the kitchen cupboard so things are more accessible there as well!)

I have been working on several new artist’s books over the past few weeks, and hope to have something to show next Sunday. Meanwhile, if you have a desperate need to look at some artist’s books, I have begun a series of posts on the CBBAG Saskatchewan blog. They feature images of books from the Light swap, with a short piece of text from each maker. So far there are two posts, and you can see them here and here.

 

 

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Cupboard

Leave a Reply

