dot / dash

The theme for this year’s call for entries from we love your books is dot / dash. I have been playing with several ideas, and I have started seeing dot / dash references everywhere, like this photo of a moth by itchydogimages.

I have been toying with using morse code for text and/or decoration,

or using asemic lettering,

but the concept that has come along the farthest is a flag book using naval signal flags.

I have purchased paper and played with possible messages by cutting and pasting in Photoshop.

I will be basing the flag book structure on the instructions from Karen Hanmer’s article in The Bonefolder.

I am still sorting/clearing/putting away/reorganising tools and paper because of the new cupboard. And I actually got out this week on the snowshoes that David gave me for Christmas. (Mine are the small ones.)

We had several snowy days this week,

and with abnormally mild temperatures, it was actually pleasant to be outside.

Although a ski pole is not traditionally used with snowshoes, I feel a little more secure with one. Perhaps as I get more practice I won’t need it anymore.

I have also prepared another blog post for CBBAG Saskatchewan: only two books this week, but there is a bonus (linked) picture showing the swap gathering.

I hope next week to have a new book of my own to show you, or at least something more than digital ideas.

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, Design and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to dot / dash

  1. Beautiful images of snowy Saskatchewan. And for some reason I rather like your photo of the porch with the snow shoes leaning against the wall. It shows a pleasant balance of colour and wood and snow, light and small dots of bright colour…

    Your collection of dots and dashes looks interesting, the moth especially. Asks to be brought back to life as a lino print, if you ask me.
    But I am very much looking forward to seeing where you go with your flagbook!

    Like

  2. lcmt says:

    Lestaret has made some truly beautiful asemic typography. I do like moths, they were a creature of my childhood fears, along with bats, that I taught myself to love. I confess I kinda revel in your white winter, since it’s a safe distance from my Mediterranean comfort. 😉

    Like

    • Byopia Press says:

      The winter white isn’t bad, as we have been having exceptionally mild weather. Apparently the temperatures don’t seem mild to some people though. I was dealing with a computer tech online last week and we were sharing my screen. ‘Click on the weather forecast’ he said. I could hear him inhale, then he asked in what seemed to be a rather sceptical tone ‘That temperature is in Celsius? Is it a mistake?’ I assured him it wasn’t and that it was well above normal for the time of year. By his accent I would place him somewhere in the Southern US, Georgia maybe. He allowed as how he would rather stay where he was. ; ] (He fixed my problem too.)

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: dot / dash 2 | Byopia Press

Leave a Reply

