dot / dash 2

As mentioned last Sunday, I have been working on a book with the theme dot / dash. Things progressed a little farther this week: I have folded the base for a flag book (I won’t show a picture as it is plain black paper and looks just like an accordion), and begun cutting out the parts for some flags. The parts for the ‘title’ flag look like this:

It’s the signal flag for the letter K, but also carries the message ‘Desire to Communicate’.

I haven’t finished cutting all the parts, but some of the text flags are ready to be assembled.

I plan to use stitching for the assembly (and possibly for some extra details), so I picked out  thread colours. They are intentionally brighter than the paper, but since they are #50 sewing thread, they won’t be overly conspicuous.

The assembled flags will be glued to the accordion spine. I plan to add a secondary message, and will have to make final decisions about where and how to add that —I might use stitching— before the flags are attached.

I have been seeing dots (if not dashes) around the web again this week, and was entertained by some paintings by Lauren DiCioccio.

These works were produced by applying a specific palette of colours (one for each letter of the alphabet) to mylar overlaid on magazine pages. This is sort of related to dot / dash, and also to some work I have done relating to colour-graphemic synesthesia.

 

There is a new Light swap post on the CBBAG Saskatchewan blog today. You might want to go and have a look at the three latest works.

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in art, artist's books, book arts, Design and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to dot / dash 2

  1. How interesting! I like the creative aspect of the “K” symbolism. Look forward to seeing your progress on this project! 🙂

    Like

  2. Flag preparation looks promising. I like the idea of sewing the pieces together like the fabrics in flags would be. Looking forward to seeing the finished book! – I can’t quite imagine yet how you will arrange them.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Bits and Pieces | Byopia Press

  4. Pingback: Lhude sing cuccu | Byopia Press

  5. Pingback: dot / dash 3 | Byopia Press

Leave a Reply

