Bits and Pieces

As I said on Friday, I have spent the week being sidetracked. I decided that the flags I discussed last Sunday are not heavy enough to work to maximum effect in a flag book. The paper is heavy enough, but because the flags are square and I want them fully visible, they do not extend far enough beyond the accordion to produce the satisfying snap I was looking for when the book is opened and closed. I will revert to my original plan which I will write about some other time.

I put the flag book on temporary hold and worked on other projects. (One of them will be featured in next week’s post.) I spent some time on Pinterest collecting links to ephemera sites for possible inspiration for parts of another project. There is some lovely stuff out there.

In the same vein, I photographed some things we found in the back of the upper bathroom closet when ripping it out to make way for the new cupboard. (The problem with inheriting a house is that it does not get completely emptied before you take possession, so you end up with multi-generational junk.)

The first two items I would date from sometime in the 1960s. Note the almost identical green used in both of them.

The other items are likely from the 1950s.

The bug spray and the prepared mustard plaster have been discarded: the spray can was empty because the bottom had rusted out, and no one should ever be subjected to a mustard plaster under any circumstances. (This stuff is probably safer than the homemade recipe that my mother burned me with when I was a child, but undoubtedly still thoroughly nasty!) My family used to own a pair of very similar (possibly identical) clippers which my mother used to trim my brother’s hair. (Think short back and sides.) My brother referred to them as ‘the lawn mower’.

I lost half a day to a visit to the optometrist to get my eyes checked and look for new frames. The ones I ended up choosing (due to various constraints like metal allergies, the wish to have clip-on sunglasses that actually match the glasses, and the strength of my prescription) are sufficiently like my current ones that most people won’t even notice.

And I posted the fifth instalment in the CBBAGSaskatchewan Light swap series.

In case you have been wondering about the cutter, the blade came back from the sharpener. David has re-installed it, done all the fine tuning, and cleaned and lubricated everything.

So far it has only done test cuts on sections of an old phone book, which it did beautifully. We have christened it Ko-Ko, after the Lord High Executioner in The Mikado.

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, Design, illustration, typography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bits and Pieces

  1. What a delightful selection of bits and bops. The box with the gauze looks interesting (is it gauze? And is it really red?). And the guillotine looks great, indeed very shiny. Now that I would have indeed space for a treasure like that, the envy is growing 🙂

    I meant to ask: I know that your studio is apparently not connected to a central heating, and you mentioned that it gets really cold in their in the winter. Do you have storage somewhere else? Do your papers and leather survive the winter there?

    Like

    • Byopia Press says:

      The box you refer to contains cotton batting (what my aunt who nursed during World War I referred to as ‘lint’) and the red is part of the brand, “Red Chain”. (Hence the little chain pictures on the box.)

      I do store paper in my studio, even when it is not heated. They seem to do just fine. I do not store leather or adhesives there. Leather (the small amount I have) lives in my sewing room, and adhesives now live in the new cupboard. ; ] I am actually blessed with two work areas: the downstairs studio holds large equipment and paper storage, while the digital technology (computer, printers), small tools, and a drafting table are in the study which I share with my husband and the cat. (She sleeps on the laser printer.)

      Like

  2. Lestaret says:

    Lovely, lovely finds. It’s very honest packaging without the branding tricks and target marketing that the modern equivalents are constructed around. Refreshing.

    Like

  3. Pingback: dot / dash 3 | Byopia Press

Leave a Reply

