Japanese Bookbinding

As I mentioned on Friday, I had a terrible week last week due to problems with technology. (I hate learning experiences.) I got quite a bit of knitting done while David wrestled with my computer —my email program more specifically. I did not stay in the study and work on books while he was doing that, as I couldn’t stand the tension. (Mostly mine.) So this week’s post is a book review.

I have mentioned Japanese Bookbinding in some previous posts, like the one on backing paper or cloth and the one on adhesives. David gave it to me when I was still primarily a paper maker, and I learned a lot from it.

Subtitled Instructions from a Master Craftsman, the book begins with a short chapter on the history of Japanese books, followed by a chapter on tools and materials before moving on to the different styles of Japanese bindings. My favourite style is the multi-section book, where the covers are sewn at the same time as the text block. I have used it for things like address and guest books.

The instructions are well written and accompanied by photographs of each step for further clarification.

I also learned case and box making from Ikegami, which was useful for pieces like this:

If you are interested in making books and/or boxes, but are intimidated by the complexity of European fine binding, this book is an easily comprehensible guide. Even if you plan to learn Western binding styles eventually, Kojiro Ikegami’s book is an excellent introduction to some of the tools and processes that you will need.

The book is still in print (my copy is the 1996 sixth edition) and can be found here.

If you are looking for a little more of the Book Arts in your day, the final post in the CBBAG Saskatchewan Light swap went up this morning.

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, review and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Japanese Bookbinding

  1. Pingback: Books, Boxes And Portfolios | Byopia Press

Leave a Reply

