But it doesn’t look like a map …

I posted some map-themed videos last Friday because I am currently working on a map-themed book. It does not look like a map at all at this point, and when completed will look only slightly more map-like. Early in the week I cut and folded some pages and played with colour arrangements.

The colour order is especially important because I am making a boustrophedon variation rather than a codex. (There’s an excellent post on the basic boustrophedon book structure here, including some free printable versions.)

The variation I am making is a spiral. If I were making it from one piece of paper the steps would look like this:

However, for this book each page will be made into a pocket, and I will sew the pockets together into the spiral using spaced double buttonhole stitches.

I want to add extra pieces to the pocket fronts, so I experimented with punching holes for lacing. I was dissatisfied with the level of accuracy I could produce, and also decided that stitching things would tie in better with the sewing holding the pages together. (And the grapes were undoubtedly sour in any case.)

Here is one of the pockets after stitching. The awl in the picture is a new one that David made for me. It has a finer tip than my other one and works just fine, but David is not happy with the handle —he hasn’t done any turning for a long time— and will probably make another with a narrower shaft.

The pockets will all be on one side of the piece when the book is fully open and flat, and the other side will, in fact, have a sort of map. And what goes in all those pockets, you ask? I will have to show you next week as my lovely assistant Kemuri said she wasn’t through with the printer just yet.

 

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, maps and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to But it doesn’t look like a map …

  1. dinahmow says:

    Perhaps you could have a secret pocket for Kemuri fur?

    Like

Leave a Reply

