But it still doesn’t look like a map …

I am not quite as far along with my ‘map’ book as I had hoped to be. Partly this is because the weather has been warm (22 C. yesterday) so David and I have been going out on our tandem bicycle, and partly it’s because I have decided to do three versions of the book. I am not sure whether they will be three volumes in one set, or three separate variations. We shall see. This meant I ended up cutting paper for four copies so that I could use some duplicate colours in each version. The leftover pockets will probably be added to notebooks in the future. So I did a lot more cutting and scoring and folding.

I also did a lot of piercing. I used a scrap of foam core under the paper and poked 1,920 holes. The image below shows about half the holes. I haven’t done the holes for the small squares yet. (Another 1,024 holes.)

I am part way through sewing down the flaps on the pockets.

I found some wooden beads at the dollar store. They match the thread colours, but I have no idea whether I will use them in this project. I’m sure I can find a use for them sometime, and at dollar store prices it wasn’t a big investment.

I have been working on things to go in the pockets, but no final set has been established yet. I also printed out coloured sheets and cut out arrows using my Craft ROBO Pro.

Finally, something that looks map-related!

I suspect that I won’t get a lot done this week. It is April and therefore time to do my annual bout of book-keeping. It usually takes me a couple of days to turn my shoebox full of receipts and cheque stubs into properly organised files and ledger entries. David does the actual tax return after I give him all my business information. This means that I get to make soothing noises while he wrestles with instructions from Canada Revenue Agency like the following:

Note 1

If you entered an amount on line B, enter on line J the amount from line G excluding the proportionate amount of line B included in the amount at line G. The proportionate amount is calculated as follows: (line B ÷ line C) x line G.

 

I think I have the better part of the deal.

 

 

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, Design, maps and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to But it still doesn’t look like a map …

  1. Those papers and colours look wonderful! I am curious to see how it all ends up like, but it seems you have been quite industrious! I can’t quite imagine yet what will come out of this, and I am looking foward to seeing the finished books.

    Good luck with the book keeping. – I just closed my books for this tax year minutes ago, and now I am ready to box all my paperwork…

    Like

    • Byopia Press says:

      I am moderately curious myself to see how it will all end up: it is turning into one of those works with a mind of its own. ; ]
      Congratulations on finishing your book-keeping for the year. I start mine tomorrow afternoon. It doesn’t really take that long. I just resent the effort it requires!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Too Much Email | Byopia Press

  3. Pingback: Lhude sing cuccu | Byopia Press

  4. Pingback: More Inclusions (and not a map in sight) | Byopia Press

  5. Pingback: The Map Book, Almost Complete | Byopia Press

  6. vdbolyard says:

    ok, these posts about the map book are way too enticing…i can’t wait to see where this book takes you (as good maps tend to do).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

