Road Trip and Workshop

I thought it might be nice to take a break from posting about the book that doesn’t look like a map, and talk about other things.

I used my Craft ROBO Pro to cut some bees for Monique Martin. (I had tried to do some with black paper previously, using a white mask to show the registration marks, and had been less than completely successful.)

I attended a Longstitch/Linkstitch binding workshop yesterday in Davidson, Saskatchewan. I had a lovely drive there and back with Susan Mills, the instructor. A little bit of time this week was spent gathering the tools I would need for the class (and some that I wouldn’t, but it’s nice to be prepared). Of course I left behind the table knife that I use for tearing paper to make signatures. I could have used that, and it probably would have been a good idea to remember the lunch I made the night before so that I wouldn’t be rushed in the morning. That did mean I got a bit of a walk around Davidson to go to the Co-op to buy some food at lunch-time.

Here are the things I did take.

Here are some of Susan’s long stitch and link stitch bindings to show you what the workshop was about.

There were twelve students in the workshop, all of whom worked very hard. Susan demonstrated each step while we watched, then we went back to our work stations to try to replicate what we had just seen.

My first model partly completed:

Later in the day, some pages drying after decorative paper was pasted on:

At the end of the day, Kristina Komendant gave each of us some of her marbled paper. I will have to think of something special to make with it.

Materials for the workshop were generously donated by Susan Mills.

I still have some homework to do: I need to trim the cover and sew the strap onto my long stitch book,

and I have to sew my link stitch book. It was getting late in the day and I knew I couldn’t get all the sewing finished before the end of the workshop. I prefer to do sewings all the way through from start to finish in one session, as it seems easier to keep the stitching tension even that way, so I didn’t begin. Everything is prepared and all the holes pierced so it’s just a matter of finding some time to sit down and complete it.

If you are interested in seeing more images from the workshop, there are some photographs by Gail F. Chin on the CBBAG Saskatchewan blog.

 

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in book arts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Road Trip and Workshop

  1. So many interesting things to see here. The bees look great, so tidy. I have been playing with the thought of getting a craft robo on and off since I read about it years ago. I figure it might be really interesting to use to make stencils. Anyways: yeah, bees again! I liked the bees projects we saw last year here on the blog.

    And an arrangement of tools is always nice to see. Mhm, and yummy paper, too. I would love to take another workshop one day. It looks on the images like this was a good one.

    Like

    • Byopia Press says:

      I use the Craft ROBO Pro with a Macintosh computer. The driver provided for the Mac OS is glitchy, so a certain level of frustration/irritation occurs almost every time I use it. Apparently it works quite smoothly with Windows. I still like it: it is incredibly fast when it does work. It would probably be fine for cutting stencils, though there are limits to what materials it can handle.

      The workshop was a lot of fun, partly because Susan is an excellent instructor and partly because it’s a nice group of people to spend time with. ; ]

      Like

Leave a Reply

