Thank Your Lucky Stars

I have been getting work ready to send to a small exhibition at Typology Gallery in Toronto. The show is called Working Title and will be held in conjunction with the first Toronto Art Book Fair in June. This isn’t a particularly onerous task, as I am sending some copies of Thank Your Lucky Stars and I already have some stars made.

Unlike the stars for The Wishing Star Project, these are made from old magazine pages and don’t have hand-written wishes inside them. They were, however, the starting point of my involvement with little paper stars.

The first iteration was produced for my solo exhibition Altered, Addled, and Alphabetical  at The Hand Wave Gallery.

Those are four ounce bottles, so it took quite a few stars to fill them. I even did a rough sorting by colour to give each bottle an individual character.

I became quite addicted to folding little paper stars. I also wanted to continue the concept, but the bottles took a lot of stars and I don’t charge for the time folding them (you can’t sell luck) so I ordered 100 plastic pill vials and created what I think of as the Fluxus edition.

It doesn’t look like a book, but I think of it as an artist’s book: it has text, and content, and the labels act as pages.

I have filled out the contract for the show, answered the questionnaire, prepped images, sent all that off by email. I have printed and cut labels.

Now I have to count out 120 stars as I fill each container.

I have described this version of Thank Your Lucky Stars as the perfect gift for the person who has everything. The work is about thankfulness. Many people have, if not more than they need, at least enough. Certainly most of us in Western Europe and North America have more than many people in the rest of the world, but the rumblings of discontent are clearly audible. I think what most of us truly need is gratitude.

So in that spirit, here are some of the things that I am grateful for this week.

I am grateful for the blossoms of Spring.

I am grateful that on this week’s unseasonably hot afternoons David made us iced coffee.

And I am enormously grateful that I don’t live in Ft. McMurray, Alberta.

The Canadian Government is matching donations to the Canadian Red Cross for Alberta fire disaster relief. You can donate here.

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thank Your Lucky Stars

  1. lcmt says:

    I am thankful you don’t live in Ft. McMurray too. The height of the flames in those pictures is terrifying.

    Like

    • Byopia Press says:

      The amazing fire fighting crews have saved much of the city. I have lifted a water pack carried by guys who work up close in forest fires. The packs weigh about 90 pounds when full. They were fighting in 30 Celsius heat with full protective gear and the water packs. Amazing!

      I have had some small experiences with the speed at which fire can move. When I was about 10 I lit my Aunt Sadie’s back yard on fire (August dry grass) while burning trash. A wind came out of nowhere and the yard was ablaze. My sister and two cousins and I put it out but the bottoms of our sneakers were never the same.

      A couple of years later my mom was burning leaves in the backyard and managed to set an entire cedar hedge on fire. In this instance, there was a garden hose and a supply of water.

      I can’t believe how long it took to evacuate Ft. McMurray. First Nations communities in the boreal forest are regularly evacuated due to fire hazards: the population seems to be packed and ready several days before the order to leave is issued. Bitter experience I presume, as I doubt that fire fighters work quite as hard to save their communities.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

