Friday Night Flicks: Gary Stranger TYPE

Here’s a short video from the Ditchling Museum of Art and Craft showing a temporary art installation to celebrate the 100th anniversary of Edward Johnston’s font design for the London Underground.

 

 

Perhaps you will notice some examples of public lettering wherever you are this weekend.

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in installation, typography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Friday Night Flicks: Gary Stranger TYPE

  1. lcmt says:

    I was amazed that Gary Stranger was spray-painting without stencils or masking.

    Like

    • Byopia Press says:

      So was I! I even went back and watched the video a second time to be sure. You can see that he does a faint pencil outline, but all the painting seems to be freehand. I would probably have at least held a sheet of card stock along the line as a mask, but I guess he has done this a lot! I did note that he pops a nozzle onto the spray can at one point, so perhaps it is a special one with a narrower spray.

      Liked by 1 person

      • lcmt says:

        I watched it again too. I thought I saw in one shot some light spray outside the sharp edges of the typeface. Perhaps he finishes by painting it over, or he leaves it because it’s barely noticeable.

        Like

Leave a Reply

