More Assorted Activities

I did a number of things this week.

I completed another gallon of stars for The Wishing Star Project, the second since I started folding again after my break.

I was, of course, helped by my lovely assistant, Kemuri.

I did some more work on the map book, some of which is directly related to maps and mapping. I cut out the parts for an astrolabe.

I am hoping to have at least one of the parts actually moveable.

I printed out some of the copies of CBBAG Pie for the mini-workshop at the end of this month. I may have to print out a few more after I find out how many participants there will be, but it is a slow job —I have to hand feed the printer— but it is nice to have it at least partially done.

I had several bike rides including one tandem ride with David to the University of Saskatchewan where we participated in a psychology study. We were paid $10 each which we spent getting take-out sushi on the way home. (No pictures: I’m sure you have seen sushi before.)

I thought about posting about bugs, specifically wood ticks and forest tent caterpillars. Recognizing that there is such a thing as too much information, I decided not to. Anyone living nearby already knows about them, and other people probably would rather not. (I added the links just in case I am wrong about that.)

Instead I will close with some pictures from the garden beside the house, which is looking quite lovely under David’s careful ministrations.

Volunteer wild hop vine:

Anemones:

My favourite kind of iris:

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to More Assorted Activities

  1. lcmt says:

    I am terribly fond of irises of all kinds. At one time, growing irises was a passion of mine. This one is a beauty and awakens all my old covetousness.

    Like

    • Byopia Press says:

      I too am fond of irises and have several varieties though I am not a serious enough gardener to do anything other than keep a few older varieties going. All the irises in our garden were either inherited with the property or saved from other people’s thinnings. ; ]

      Liked by 1 person

  2. lcmt says:

    In the photograph of your assistant, she bears a striking resemblance to Timothy Futz Stutz Bearcat, the most magnificent of my former cats. He was a cat who had many dark colors mixed in his coat, yet always managed to be a black cat. I do like black cats, very much.

    Like

    • Byopia Press says:

      Kemuri looks completely black in some lights, much to the annoyance of people trying to photograph her. In other lights she is visibly tabby. Her coat is really black and grey tabby with a black tip on each hair. Hence her name, which means ‘smoke’, because she is like old buildings in England that still have a layer of coal smoke disguising their real colour.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. vdbolyard says:

    i like the assortment, kind of like catching up with a new friend. if that makes sense…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

