Finally, some things that are actually maps

I did some more work on the map book this week. I started out with a couple of things that are not maps:

a page of some of the world’s religions which will be folded like the puzzle purse valentine I posted about here,

and some magic squares. The first is the mathematical variety, the second is a four-way palindrome with connections to both Christianity and magic.

Then I got to work on some facsimiles of real maps.

This is a record of the sky above ancient Nineveh circa 3300 BCE. It can function as a primitive astrolabe.

This is the oldest map ever found: Nippur, circa 1400 BCE.

I printed facsimiles of a 14th century Korean star map

and a planisphaerium coeleste from 1850.

I also printed a version of a world map originally produced by Justus Danckerts in Amsterdam in 1680. (You can make a pretty good guess at the age of the map from the blank area in North America.)

Finally I printed a facsimile of the Ebstorf map created in Northern Germany in the 13th century. It is pretty much unreadable having been reduced to fit in a pocket when folded. The original was painted on 30 goatskins and measured 3.6 metres by 3.6 metres (12 feet by 12 feet). It is still obvious that it is a mappa mundi similar to the Hereford map, with the head of Christ at the top.

I folded it using what I learned as the napkin fold. If you pull on opposite corners, the map opens automatically.

I still have all the other maps to fold, and a few more things to print, cut, and assemble or fold, but I will be switching projects this week: putting finishing touches on my presentation on Altered Books for next Saturday, and completing my entry for the dot / dash exhibition at we love your books. The latter has changed a lot since I last mentioned it, so you may be surprised when you see what it turned into. You will likely have to wait until July 3rd to read about it as I will be posting about the CBBAG Saskatchewan year-end wrap up (Saturday, June 25) next Sunday.

I also finished another gallon of stars for The Wishing Star Project, but I didn’t take a picture: it would have been boring as the stars were all blue.

 

 

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, maps and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Finally, some things that are actually maps

  1. lcmt says:

    There are people who follow me on tumblr and facebook who I think will really enjoy this post, so I am sharing the heck out of it.

    Like

  2. Ooh, maps! 🙂 Beautiful selection, and I am intrigued to see more. – I have a lot of catch-up to do on this blog. Sorry for being so silent in recent weeks… Anyway, I love the maps 🙂 I believe we talked about that before, and you know the bibliodyssey blog and photostream on Flickr, but I am not sure, so I am posting the link here. – He also has a selection of beautiful old maps.
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/bibliodyssey/

    Like

Leave a Reply

