dot / dash 3

Back in late February and early March I wrote a bit about working on an entry for this year’s we love your books juried on-line exhibition.

The flag book wasn’t working the way I wanted, so I set it aside to pursue other ideas. I was still interested in the idea of codes —dot/dash, morse code, code— so I played with the idea of colour-graphemic synesthesia and colour-coded alphabets. I had developed  several alphabet colour codes while creating an earlier piece in a planned series called Synesthesia. I chose to work with this one.

There are more than 26 colours because I allowed for a number of punctuation marks.

I selected this colour scheme because I thought it suited the text, Pete Seeger’s love song  Over The Hills.

Over the hills I went one day,
Dreaming of myself and you.
And the springtime of years since first we met,
And all that we’ve been through.

May I not with delight still dream
Of the years, of the summer and fall to be,
And the many, many verses still to be sung
In the ballad of you and me.

I decided to try it out as a Victorian puzzle purse, a structure which has sometimes been used for valentines.

Printing layout:

Actual puzzle purse:

It is quite a satisfying little piece, but I thought it might be a bit trivial for a juried competition, so I designed a book as well.

For some time I have wanted to use Hedi Kyle’s panel book structure. I saved the instructions from the Guild of Bookworkers website a number of years ago.

I altered the proportions and created a couple of landscape images of rolling hills based on a picture from my photo files. I also re-arranged the text into rectangular blocks, which involved removing all the punctuation except the final period.

Here’s the new book, Over The Hills.

I also did a second book in a completely different style, both in format and content, but you will have to wait until next Sunday to see it. If you would like to look at another entry right away, you can see Hilke Kurzke’s book on her blog.

Hilke and I (and, presumably, a lot of other book artists) now have to wait until the end of July to find out which works will be selected for the exhibition.

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, Design, illustration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to dot / dash 3

  1. Oh, thanks for the link 🙂 I very much like the idea of using coloured (square) dots to encode letters of the alphabet and the resulting visuals. And thanks for including the instructions for the diorama. I feel like maybe playing a bit with this structure. Mhm – will have to see where and when I can squeeze in a play session. I do need one desperately. Thanks again for the nudge 🙂

    (Btw. did my other comment just before this one reach you? I usually read your blog in a reader which seems to allow me to leave comments, too, and I tried it for the first time. Usually – like now – I am opening an article I want to comment on in a browser window and comment then.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a beautiful book arts post! Loved every bit of it, but was especially pulled in by the photo at the top of your post.

    Like

  3. Pingback: dot / dash 4 | Byopia Press

Leave a Reply

