The Map Book, Almost Complete

I should be able to put the finishing touches on the map book this afternoon. I have decided that it’s proper name is Finding A Way, a title which makes reference to the walking and cycling Ways we have travelled in Britain, as well as people finding ways to get through life. Here are almost all the inclusions for the pockets that make up the book.

This week, as well as folding all the actual maps and cutting, gluing, and trimming the tarot and playing cards, I designed a paper Fortune Teller to go in one of the pockets. I used scrap paper to make a test model first so that I could work out where the symbols and lettering would go.

I used alchemical symbols (based on astrological symbols) for the four seasons for the four outer points.

Since I needed eight symbols for the first inner surfaces, I re-used the I Ching trigrams. The innermost layer gives answers to any question that might be put to the Fortune Teller: yes, no, always, never, maybe, perhaps, definitely, meh.

After punching a lot of holes,

I finished sewing one copy of the book together. Here it is partly complete.

I still have to apply the little arrows I showed you in April. They will go on the back of the pockets, and in a few places on the things inside the pockets.

Stay tuned for final images next week!

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than thirty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004. I also create prints and drawings that are frequently text-inspired or text-based.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, maps and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Map Book, Almost Complete

  1. lcmt says:

    Wow. This looks like it’s going to be an enchantment of a book.

    Like

  2. This looks really intruiging. But I can’t say I have understood how the book works, moves, how it is handled and how it reveals its content. Looking forward to seeing more.

    Like

  3. Pingback: The Map Book Completed (And Some Other Stuff) | Byopia Press

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.