More This and That (but mostly manhole covers)

We had visitors last night: Louise Levergneux (and her partner Michael and their dog Topaz) camped at our place on their way through Saskatchewan. Louise is collecting images of manhole covers for her City Shields series.

They went off this morning to photograph some I had previously located in Saskatoon before they head off to Moose Jaw. Louise has been working on this series since 2000, and there are still many manhole covers to collect.When I first encountered City Shields I thought it was a novel idea. I have since discovered that although Louise was obsessed with manhole covers long before many other people, there are a lot of artists doing related work. The covers have been used as printing blocks by German group raubdruckerin,

and recorded with rubbings by London designer Marina Willer and presented in book form.

I included manhole covers in my book no skateboarding, a boustrophedon variation that folds into its own box.

The Japanese have been making decorative manhole covers since circa 1980,

but the use of artist-designed covers has spread around the world. It would be fun to have some in Saskatoon as a change from this:

By the way, if you are out searching for interesting manhole covers, the correct term is “drainspotting”.

________________________________________________________________

In other news, my map book, Finding A Way, was selected for Artists’ Book Cornucopia VII, opening September 15, 2016 at the Abecedarian Gallery in Denver, Colorado.

I also received an email from weloveyourbooks saying that my work had been accepted for the dot / dash on-line exhibition. Hmmm …

I submitted two entries, Over The Hills 

and Questions from Shakespeare.

I have no idea which one (or both?!) got in. I also know that Emma is in the middle of packing up and moving, so I have decided to just wait and see what eventually appears in the on-line images of the exhibition. I will post a link to the show once it is up on the weloveyourbooks website.

 

 

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, Design and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

