Friday Night Flicks: Popville

Since Monique Martin and I are working on a pop-up book, it seems appropriate to show a video of one by Anouck Boisrobert and Luis Rigaud. Their book employs clever use of cut-outs in the pages to permit a small village to grow into a city.

 

 

If you want to try making a pop-up this weekend, there are simple instruction videos on The Pop-Up Channel.

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in book arts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Friday Night Flicks: Popville

  1. lcmt says:

    It’s funny how this simple cheerful book almost brought me to tears. I came away feeling that for everything we gain, we must lose something equally precious.

    Like

    • Byopia Press says:

      Hmmm … probably a function of how old you are (sorry!) as I think a child might just see the elements of growth and new-ness.

      Frankly, I would rather live in the village. In fact I am lucky enough to live in something that remotely resembles that village, but really close enough to a city that I can ride my bike to all the major urban conveniences. (That last word is definitely not used in the English sense!)

      Liked by 1 person

      • lcmt says:

        Yes, I think you’re right. My feelings are definitely rooted in the sense of loss that comes with age. Oddly enough, I have this idea that I could live happily in a certain type of urban setting, but I view this notion with skepticism. I suspect the attractive urban setting I’m dreaming of only exists in movies. 🙂

        Like

      • Byopia Press says:

        Actually, I know a few cities that have tiny perfect neighbourhoods where you can pretend that the rest of the world isn’t real! Hard to find if you don’t live there: nothing incredibly special to attract the notice of outsiders, enough local resources that one can function within the neighbourhood and never leave.

        My sister has moved from one neighbourhood to yet another within the city of Toronto.

        I still prefer to visit rather than move there (my sister’s neighbourhood), because I live in the perfect location: a rural property within biking distance of a city.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

