Some Assembly Required

I mentioned on Friday that Monique Martin and I are working on a pop-up book. Inspired by an alphabet game from my childhood, but using numbers rather than letters, the book is called I Love My Love. The odd pages contain a pigment printed digitally created image, with the line ‘I love my love with a …’ at the bottom. The even pages work up from number one with the reasons why.

Here are the backgrounds (without text) for the even pages:

Having the heart-shaped cloud solidify gradually (rather like the Cheshire Cat) was Monique’s idea, and I am rather pleased with how it works.

Printing layout for the number 5 page:

Odd pages printed and scored:

The white edges will all be trimmed off after other assembly is finished and before gluing all the pages together to form the book.

Monique has carved, printed, and cut out linocuts for the book. There is a number or other appropriate symbol for each sentence, and flowers (chosen for their meanings in the language of flowers). The number of printed flowers equals the number represented, so four chrysanthemums for number 4, eight tulips for  number 8.

Some of the numbers:

Some of the flowers:

The daisy is printed white on white which shows more in real life than it does on the image above!

Some of the flowers require assembly before being added to the book. Here are the tulips glued together.

I want to use ribbon for some of the mechanisms and some of the mounting, so I got some narrow ribbon in nice bright colours.

There will be little bows on each of the number symbols, ribbons tying up some of the flowers in bundles, and ribbons on the ends of levers and pull tabs. Since I am aiming for silly rather than serious, I may also add some hearts like the ones I posted here.

Come back next Sunday to see how it goes together. Now it is back to work for me!

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, Design, moveable books and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

