Some Assembly Required 2

This was the week for actually putting I Love My Love together. I have done a movable book before, so I knew that there was a lot of careful work to be done. On the whole I think things went well with the assembly. David photographed the book for me so I had images to enter the work in POP-UP NOW II, an upcoming exhibition at 23 Sandy Gallery. The pictures were taken before putting a cover on the book as it made it easier to prop all the pages at the same angle. I used a piece of foam core as a support so that there was no shadow from an external prop.

Here are a few of the pages. (The first image is one of the odd number pages that appear between each of the pop-up/movable number pages.)

The book includes a basic pop-up all the way through, and has enclosures, flaps, a slider, and a sort of volvelle. The slider is behind the tulips: I had to make it curved so that the bouquet of flowers would open in an arc.

It was a really nice piece of paper engineering, but I ended up cutting off the the first tab (on the left above) and gluing down the first two groups of flowers because the leaves kept getting tangled and causing things to jam. (I hate learning experiences.) The second slider still operates quite well. You can see the different positions by comparing the image below with the image of the number 8 page above.

I also cut out a lot of red hearts to use for tabs or just decoration.

My favourite thing in the whole book appears on the number seven page. The number is represented by a seven of hearts,

the flower for the page is the daisy, and the text reads “because I am lucky to have found him.” so it seemed logical to make it possible to play “he loves me, he loves me not”.

You can move the heart back and forth to find “loves me” and “loves me not”.

 

It is a wonderful book, and I hate it for a number of reasons I may tell you about some other time.

 

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, Design, moveable books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Some Assembly Required 2

  1. lcmt says:

    I am amazed you packed all that into the book! It makes such a compact package. There is far more involved in this project than I realized from your first post.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Friday Night Flicks: Bringing a Pop-Up Book to Life | Byopia Press

Leave a Reply

