Putting Up Mangoes

The title of this post sounds like I might be about to pass on a recipe, but Putting Up Mangoes is the title of a book. Like most book artists, I collect as well as produce artist’s books. This one arrived on Friday.

It has been quite a process, starting back in July. Convivio Bookworks was having a sale and I ordered a copy of Putting Up Mangoes.

On Jul 2, 2016, at 12:22 PM, Cathryn Miller wrote:
Hi John,
I would love to buy a bound copy of Putting Up Mangoes, but the address form does not permit me to change the destination country to Canada.
Do you not ship across the border?!
Cheers,
Cathryn
P.S. I would need to know shipping costs before confirming the order.

John Cutrone replied promptly, dealt with the sale directly since the form apparently could not handle shipping to Canada, and found an inexpensive shipping rate through the postal system. Then Canada Post employees announced impending work stoppages causing Canada Post management to threaten a lockout. I told John not to send the book.

When it appeared that the postal system was going to remain operational, I gave John the OK to mail the book to me. Within hours of my sending the email, the post office negotiations looked like they would implode and there would be work stoppages after all. Fortunately that did not happen. However I got to spend some time worrying that my book might end up on the bottom of a pile of back-logged mail. Postal negotiations resumed, eventually a contract was reached, and I started counting the days until the book would arrive.

John mailed the book on August 17 with an expected delivery time of 6 to 10 days. Those would be working days so the book should have arrived by the 31st of August. I allowed a couple of days grace, and then started worrying again. Was the book lost? Was there a customs problem? I had no tracking number and no idea where the book was. I decided that if the book didn’t come last Friday, I would email John.

The book arrived Friday.

All that exposition was to explain why David did what he did. I arrived home to find this on the kitchen counter:

I took a couple of pictures of the unwrapping.

As you can see from the picture above, John included some letterpress extras in the package: an announcement of the name change of Red Wagon Bookworks to Convivio Bookworks,

and three Copperman’s Day cards.

And now for the book itself.

Putting Up Mangoes is a lovely little letterpress pamphlet (with double endpapers) containing a short story by John Cutrone and a linoleum print illustration by Seth Thompson. You saw a picture of the front cover at the start of the post. Here are more images.

I am fond of colophons, and to prevent eyestrain on the part of anyone else who likes them, here’s a close-up.

I tried taking an angled shot to show the imprint of the letterpress, but I don’t think I had quite enough cross-light. I think I can see the faint indentation made in the paper by the type, but that may just be because I know it is there! And it is beautiful.

Putting Up Mangoes is a wonderful addition to my collection and I am very pleased that it arrived safely. If you are interested in looking at more titles from Convivio Bookworks, just click here.

 

 

 

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, publishing, typography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Putting Up Mangoes

  1. lcmt says:

    I had the chance to learn letterpress in high school, but I chickened out. It’s one of my great regrets, which isn’t too bad, certainly. It’s not a tragedy like running over one of your classmates with a truck, so one might be grateful for that.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Friday Night Flicks: The Hoxton Street Monster Supplies Cookbook | Byopia Press

Leave a Reply

