The Cloths of Heaven

Back at the beginning of July, I wrote about one of my entries for weloveyourbooks dot / dash on-line exhibition. I used Hedi Kyle’s panel book structure for my book Over The Hills.

Using the same structure I recently designed and printed two more panel books. They are part of my ongoing series of works inspired by colour-graphemic synesthesia.Making multiple books using the same structure is a little easier than starting over every time, so I had some basic guidelines from Over The Hills to use for the next ones.

I prepared images in Photoshop. Here’s one of the images for The Cloths of Heaven, my version of the W. B. Yeats poem.

Here’s the layout in InDesign for the book.

I  use the outside of the dark squares (upper image) as a guide for cutting the panels. The coloured squares for the text (lower image) will show on the other side of the panels.

The blocks of text had to be translated. I created a colour-based alphabet,

and translated the text of the poem. (I took some liberties with the punctuation to make a nice design!)

The Cloths of Heaven is printed and resting in my paper storage, along with another book.

The other book, Westron Wynde, is a very old poem, possibly from the earliest days of writing in the English vernacular. There are many interpretations of its meaning, but I always envision a fisherman out in the North Atlantic, longing for the spring wind to blow him back to his love.

Here are the texts for the two poems:

 

 

 

The printed sheets for the two books (and their covers) will stay in the map case until I get around to scoring, cutting, and folding them for my show in November.

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, Design, illustration and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Cloths of Heaven

  1. Pingback: A Bit of This… | Byopia Press

Leave a Reply

