While I Was Away

I have actually been visiting Canada’s Left Coast (British Columbia — mostly Vancouver and area) for the past week. Personal book arts activities were non-existent, but I did find some things that relate to artist’s books on my travels. There were two at the Vancouver Art Gallery. The first was unavoidable as it is a text-based installation by Barbara Kruger in the main rotunda.

The second text-based piece was hidden away on the third floor in a dark hallway that provided a shortcut between two of the rooms that were part of the Bharti Kher Matter exhibition. It was not possible to photograph it: illuminated by one dim overhead light and enclosed in an extremely scratched plexiglass case, it was barely possible to get a good look at it.

Entitled Sing to them that will listen, the work consists of a Tibetan singing bowl containing polished rice grains on top of a marble plinth. An evocation of the many voices of India, there are words and numbers written on the grains of rice. Since I could not get a picture myself, I have scavenged the web for images.

The middle image comes from an on-line review here. The other two come from the Hauser & Wirth website, where you can see more of Kher’s work. None of it looks even remotely like the piece I have just shown you, but to quote from the review:

Bharti Kher’s works are expertly executed, aesthetically striking and conceptually potent – a must see.

And now I must get back to work, including dealing with several things that people requested while I was away!

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in book arts, installation, typography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to While I Was Away

  1. lcmt says:

    The Barbara Kruger images is a wonderful example of typography that overwhelms the content. I have to admit I love pieces where the content has to surrender its place of supremacy to form.

    Like

  2. lcmt says:

    “Sing to them that will listen” reminds me of your star project…

    Like

Leave a Reply

