Changes

There have been a number of changes around here in the past ten days or so. Some of them are temporary, like the snow. Our lovely assistant Kemuri was not impressed.

The other changes (still in progress) are that Byopia Press has bought two new printers.

The replacement of the Epson was planned, sort of. Our current one was becoming increasingly fussy, and the recurring problem of accidental pigment spots more frequent. The cost in time, wasted paper, excess cost in replacement pigment cartridges due to lost prints and frequent head cleaning was becoming unreasonable. We had not planned to purchase the Epson SC-P800 17″ inkjet printer quite so soon, but Epson was offering a fabulous discount so we went for it. The new inkjet is a second generation descendent of our current model, and looks pretty much the same.

The one immediately obvious improvement is that the control panel is on the front rather than the top of the machine which means that it does not have to be protected from our lovely assistant.

The decision to replace my workhorse Konica Minolta Bizhub C30P laser printer was forced on us. The machine began malfunctioning while I was printing materials for the workshop I taught last Sunday. (I ended up printing single copies of pages with a cooling off period for the machine between prints.) When the service man arrived —within a couple of hours— we discovered that the part that needed replacement was no longer available. They stopped making parts for this model in December 2015.

I would have cheerfully bought the current generation of the same machine but (and it is a very big but) it does not do banner printing. It only prints up to legal paper length. This is not an option for a book artist who uses accordion and accordion-based structures for many works. Yes, I could print in shorter sections and glue them together. Considering the extra costs in time and waste materials, and the increased potential for errors in assembly, this is not a realistic option.

We looked at the next model up: a ginormous thing that can print 11″ x 17″ sheets, but not only did it cost more than we had planned, it would have meant renovating our workspace. And although I now own a stack cutter, I don’t produce enough text blocks to justify the 11″ x 17″ capacity for printing foldable signatures.

David did a huge amount of research on line (and dealt with me being hysterical) and we got sample printouts from a local dealer who was willing to deal with a small purchaser and we are buying a Ricoh SP C440DN laser printer.

The print quality is good, it has about the same footprint as the previous laser printer, and it prints banner paper up to 49.6″! It also weighs twice as much as the old printer which I find reassuring. Presumably it is more solidly constructed. (Opening the manual feed door on the Bizhub made me anxious every time because the plastic seemed so fragile.)

Neither of the new printers are here yet so I can’t show you anything printed with them. You couldn’t judge print quality from a small image on screen in any case.

And I have no new work to show for this week: I am entering the final stages of preparation for my exhibition Bookish which opens November 1, which means I am finishing editions of works I have been showing you over the past few months.

Pretty pictures are one of the things people like on the Internet, and since the recent snowfall, however surprising, is certainly beautiful, I will conclude with images of that. The first two are views out the windows of my downstairs studio, the last two were taken near the garden by David.

Did you spot the fawn?!

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in book arts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Changes

  1. lcmt says:

    I am without printers or snow, so your pictures of printers and snow are like exotic vacation snaps to me. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  2. vdbolyard says:

    always interesting to read about printers, thanks…and your deer photo reminds me of a photo of a chair i looked at on etsy, the chair was on a porch and a doe was on the edge of the woods beyond the porch.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

