Pencils and The Persistence of Hope

I am still finishing work for my exhibition, Bookish, which opens at Gallery on the Greens in Saskatoon on November 1, 2016. I will post the press release later this week when it goes out, but for now here’s a box with some of the work.

Friday’s videos were about pencils. I started thinking about pencils because I have been using pencils to write out the wishes for The Persistence of Hope, aka The Wishing Star Project. I have used quite a few so far. (There is one more still in use.)

Please note that the apparent tooth marks on the pencil stubs were not made by my lovely assistant, Kemuri, although she does love to steal pencils to play with. They are from the gripping mechanism of the automatic feed on my pencil sharpener.

I used random inexpensive pencils that had somehow found their way into our pencil drawer, but our house contains a wide variety of pencils to choose from. Apparently I collect them. I have drawing pencils from several companies:

IMG_2198

My favourite pencils come from the Cumberland Pencil Company. Most people know them as Derwent pencils.

You can see that the top one is a souvenir of The Cumberland Pencil Museum. As mentioned on Friday, David and I have made a point of visiting twice, and would happily go back again. On our last visit we were travelling by tandem bicycle, so we had the capacity to carry more than one pencil each. David bought a set of these (I already owned one).

I bought a lovely wooden pencil box, and a half dozen of the Lakeland Jumbo pencils. I have always liked Big Fat Pencils and was sad to give up writing with them when I was required to switch to regular pencils at school.

I also have several mechanical pencils which are handy to have in a purse or backpack. The nicest one I own was made for me by Gary von Kuster. The barrel is cast resin and contains wasp paper that I gave to Gary. It takes 5.6 mm leads and has a lovely fat shape and a pleasant weight.

I’ll save a discussion of my coloured pencils for another time!

And finally:

I am winding up the writing of wishes and folding of stars for The Persistence of Hope and will be closing the Make A Wish link at midnight (local time) on October 31. (That would be 6 a.m. Greenwich Mean Time.)

If you have a wish you would like included in the work, please leave it here before the deadline.

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in art, artist's books, book arts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pencils and The Persistence of Hope

  1. lcmt says:

    I love that there is plenty of human interaction, expertise and judgment happening between all those machine processes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

