Still a few loose ends …

The big event of the week was installing The Persistence of Hope (the culmination of The Wishing Star Project) yesterday afternoon. It left the house in three boxes,

and ended up looking like this. The second image shows David tidying the stars with a push broom.

It is not an ideal space, but it will give me a chance to see how the whole thing works with actual members of the public.

I spent part of the week doing things like printing signs.

I want to do a couple more before the installation is open for the first public viewing on Wednesday: one with a little bit of info about meditation labyrinths, and one with some of my favourite wishes, like these.

I’m also part way through making some small notebooks. The larger ones will each have a leftover pocket from Finding a Way on the front.

If you look closely at the image above you can see that I have sewn the notebooks “three up”. This will be the first real test of Ko-Ko (my incredibly heavy stack cutter). The idea is that I can trim the top edge, then cut two 4″ notebooks and a 2.5″ mini one.

After trimming I will attach a flap to each cover so the notebooks close like this,

then I’ll attach a pocket to the front of the larger ones.

I will let you know how it all turns out.

Installation for Bookish is Tuesday. The first open afternoon for The Persistence of Hope is from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. on Wednesday. Please drop in if you happen to be in Saskatoon!

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, installation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Still a few loose ends …

  1. wendyfe says:

    A “stellar” Magnum Opus, Cathryn! Congratulations on the safe delivery of your constellation!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

