First Day Open

The Persistence of Hope (aka The Wishing Star Project) opened to the public for the first time last Wednesday. I went in a little early to finish the set up and put up more signs.

Here’s the view out the door just after I opened.

I brought strips of paper for people to leave wishes, strips of paper for learning to fold stars, and a few strips of paper with wishes already written on them so I could fold stars when it was quiet.

I wore something appropriate to the occasion.

While waiting for people to come, I took some images of the display windows in front of the space, and of my exhibition Bookish, which is on at Gallery on the Greens — eight display cases around the mini golf course in Market Mall.

Here’s the view out the door half way through the afternoon.

I folded all the wishes I had brought. (I have written out more to take with me when I go in again this afternoon.)

I started standing in the doorway and talking to people as they walked past. I walked out into the mall and talked to people sitting on the benches. I managed to get three women to actually come through the door. One of the women said “My daughter is interested in this kind of thing. I’ll have to bring her.” Perhaps she will.

I did not get anyone to walk the labyrinth.

This is the view out the door just before I locked up.

I have done craft sales for years. I know that even in a situation where the public have come expecting to look at work and possibly buy things, something newly introduced will often sit apparently unnoticed. If you do the same sale a second year, people will come to your booth and say “Last year you had … ” and be interested in making a purchase.

I had not held out great hopes for the first day, though it was a little slower than I had imagined! If you are in Saskatoon in November, The Persistence of Hope is located between The Children’s Discovery Museum and Smitty’s in Market Mall. Opening hours are 2 – 4 p.m. on Wednesdays and Sundays.

I’d love to see you!


In other news:

Pop-Up Now II is open.

You can have a look at all the wonderful works here.

 

 

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, installation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to First Day Open

  1. Mary Kritz says:

    Congratulations Cathryn, the labyrinth looks great filled with wishes from around the world I’m glad I could be a part of it Kind regards, Mary

    Like

  2. lcmt says:

    I wish I was there to walk your labyrinth! There is a simple labyrinth path at our local hospital that I have walked a few times. The feeling is a little weird, I don’t know how to explain it, I felt a connection to a greater whole, maybe to the community, since I was at the hospital. I think if I could walk your labyrinth I would feel connected to all the people who had made wishes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Byopia Press says:

      That’s the idea. I had a number of participants yesterday, mostly children with moms or grandmoms. The one woman who walked the path by herself had also walked a temporary labyrinth at her church previously.
      When she was finished walking through the wishes she came and gave me a huge hug. ; ]

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Friday Night Flicks: Food Maps and Meet Illustrator Illustrator Lucy Engelman | Byopia Press

Leave a Reply

