Friday Night Flicks: Food Maps and Meet Illustrator Lucy Engelman

The Persistence of Hope is installed as a labyrinth (which is a kind of map), and the book I will be writing about on Sunday uses a map as a design source, so I thought today’s flicks should also be map-related.

Both short videos show alternative approaches to creating maps. The first is just for fun, and shows maps created by Caitlin Levin and Henry Hargreaves using food.

The second is a brief introduction to the work of illustrator Lucy Engelman.

Engelman’s work is included in the Gestalten publication Mind The Map: Illustrated Maps and Cartography. Maybe you will find a copy to look at this weekend, or perhaps you will just find your way from one place to another using a map.

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in Design, illustration, maps and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Friday Night Flicks: Food Maps and Meet Illustrator Lucy Engelman

  1. lcmt says:

    I love maps. I love drawing maps, I tell myself an epic narrative when I draw a map. I don’t do it as often as I once did–I think it has been 2 years since I drew my last set of maps

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

