More Than Halfway

I have been opening The Persistence of Hope two afternoons a week since the beginning of November, so on Wednesday I passed the half way point of the experiment. I have improved the exterior signage, and I am getting a few more visitors. Since the big question on Wednesday was “How much does this cost?” I will add yet another sign this afternoon saying Free Admission.

I wore a different outfit this week:

I also played with the layout of the labyrinth in an attempt to make it look more welcoming. The angular format I began with seemed suited to the room when I laid it out, but I tried rounding the front a bit.

I am not sure if that is what made the difference, but I did have more people come into the space on Wednesday.

I can’t use the full width of the room because there is a nasty gap in the flooring where a wall was removed, but I have been thinking about different spirals anyway. I like the idea of a labyrinth in the shape of a spiral galaxy. The path would still be one way, which avoids crowding, and I might be able to spread the stars out more so that it would be more obvious that there are tens of thousands of them.

I could try doubling an Archimedean spiral,

or perhaps use Fermat’s two-armed spiral.

The path in this one would be the blue line, rather than the white space. It would be harder to lay out then the previous one, but someone walking the path would be standing in a large spread of stars when they reached the middle.

Things tend to make odd intersections in my brain, especially when I am lying awake in the middle of the night. I have been knitting in the evenings now that I am no longer folding stars (other than the ones I give away or add to the installation while I’m at the mall). I tried something called Domino Knitting this week.

Invented by Danish knitter Vivian Høxbro, the technique involves knitting from two sides of a square towards the opposite point. New squares are made using stitches from the side of a previous square or squares. A couple of nights ago it occurred to me that you could use this technique to knit a Fibonacci spiral. You would need a very long circular needle (or multiple double point needles) for the last square if you knitted anything large!

I’m off to the mall again this afternoon. We’ll see if a “Free Admission” sign makes any difference.

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in Design, installation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

