Calendars

Although the books I produce under the Byopia Press imprint vary widely in format and style, there is one thing that I make on an annual basis. Every year since 2004, Byopia Press has produced at least one desktop calendar.  When I still did pre-Christmas craft sales, I used to design and print them in October, but the schedule is now a bit more relaxed.

The calendars take the form of cards that fit into a plastic case that opens to act as a display stand for month-at-a-time viewing.

The very first calendar was inspired by finding a discarded German reader. The engraved illustrations (printed from blocks that had apparently come from England, judging by the text in some of them) covered a wide range of subjects and I could easily select twelve for a calendar.

The calendar sold well the first year so in 2005 I produced another one, this time based on some of my own photographs.

Publishing a calendar became an annual tradition. Some years I made up to three designs. The themes covered a range of subject matter. Most were based on my own images,

 

though occasionally I would use copyright-free scanned images from old books. I even did one with a bookbinding theme.

In 2008, I designed the first Beeston calendar. (Beeston is a small English bear who joined us during a walking holiday. He has accompanied us on a number of subsequent journeys.)

(Yes, he really did have a butterfly land on his nose!)

For the last few years Byopia Press has only produced one calendar annually. Due to popular demand, it is always about Beeston. Each year we pick a theme and select from existing images or make new ones.

I can’t show you this year’s calendar as that would spoil the surprise for people who receive one at Christmas, so here are some images from other years.

 

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in book arts, Design, illustration and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

