A Christmas Draw

(This draw is now completed. Winners names may be found at the end of this post.)

It’s December already, so I thought I would offer readers three chances to win a copy of IF from the mini-edition I made for my exhibition Bookish. The text and illustrations are the same as the free printable version I posted in June of 2015, but this one is in accordion format.

The text is an old African proverb, though I recently saw it attributed to the Dalai Lama. (Perhaps His Holiness just likes it as much as I do, and uses it.)

 

The saying is illustrated with a selection of dead mosquitoes,

and the band closure for the book is illustrated with an image of window screen.

If you would like to enter the draw, please use the Contact form on this website to send me your name and mailing address. Entries close at midnight on the 17th of December, Canadian Central Standard Time (6 a.m. Greenwich Mean Time). With luck, winners will get their book in time for Christmas.

I will attempt to have my lovely assistant Kemuri select the three winners, as she did last year. She may now be a grown-up cat, but she still loves little pieces of crumpled paper!

I will announce the winners on my post on the 18th. Good luck everyone!


In other news:

Wednesday was the last day for the trial installation of The Persistence of Hope.

I learned a number of things through the process. I need more space to display the work properly —not really a surprise.

The stars have more impact on viewers/participants if they can be seen more clearly, so a layered line is less effective than a spread of stars.

The work needs some kind of supervision. I had one participant attempt to walk on the stars rather than following the path between them.

My best student at learning to fold stars was an eight-year-old girl.

And what am I doing in the evening now that I am not folding stars?

Knitting.

I have been knitting a shawl for myself, designing it as I go. The crossing out on the graph paper indicates rows knitted. I have just started the second page of graph paper. Here’s the first.

I’m knitting from one corner, so the diagonal on the graph paper will be the top edge when the shawl is finished.

The big knitting project for December is a Christmas present: a Fair Isle vest for David. It is not a secret since I needed to measure him, I wanted to be sure he liked the pattern and colours, and I could not possibly get it done during the short periods he is not at home.

I’m using yarn left over from my weaving days, so there have been colour substitutions.

Since the yarn is slightly thicker than that used for the original pattern, I have engaged in a series of calculations to figure out how many stitches will be required both to fit David and to make the 24 stitch pattern repeat work out. I have also pencilled in some possible changes in the pattern to eliminate the longest floats on the inside of the vest and make the knitting process a bit simpler.

Perhaps I will have enough done by next Sunday to be worth showing.

Don’t forget to enter the draw for the free copy of IF!

 

 

 

 

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, free book and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Christmas Draw

  1. Susan Montgomery says:

    Yes, Cathryn, I would like to participate in the drawing for *If! *I’m feeling lucky! Thank you for your kind offer.

    (address removed for privacy)

    Like

  2. How does one enter, Cathryn? I would like to.

    Like

    • Byopia Press says:

      Hi Bertha,

      When you are at the beginning of the post, you can see an image of paper stars at the very top. Below it is a black menu bar. At the right hand end of the menu bar is the word Contact. Click on that and you will be transported magically to my Contact page. Please fill out the boxes for your name and email address, then leave your postal address and any other message in the Comment box. After that, just click on the Submit button to the left below the Comment box. The program sends your message directly to me.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Friday Night Flicks: Best Wishes | Byopia Press

Leave a Reply

