A Box for Christmas

I received many lovely Christmas presents this year, but I think my favourite was a joint gift from two friends. When unwrapped it looked like this:

The hinges are in good condition, but the clasps on the front of the box are a little past their best before date.

The exciting part of the gift is revealed when the box is opened.

The bottom rows are word stamps, the little ones in the middle are individual letters and punctuation, and the top ones are pictures.

The stamps in the bottom right corner (where we suspect the ink pad lived originally) are from other sets,

including two from a Popeye series.

The glue holding the spacers in place had failed some time ago so I did a bit of re-gluing.

One of the spacers was missing from the upper section, so David manufactured a new one.

He also bought new clasps at Lee Valley and attached them yesterday afternoon, but daylight had already gone for the day so I didn’t photograph them on the box.

Another wonderful present was made by David: it’s a pair of holders on the bathroom wall between the window and the medicine cabinet where I can keep my hair sticks. (David made those too: six of the ones in the picture were a present on my last birthday.)

Because it is the first day of a new year, many people will be making New Year’s Resolutions. I don’t usually make any, but I recently came across one that I might make.

It is actually a mural created by Ben Johnston for Project Owl, a co-working space in Toronto, Canada. There is a video of Johnston creating the mural here.

Happy New Year everyone, and all the best for 2017!

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in book arts, Design, illustration, installation, typography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Box for Christmas

  1. dinahmow says:

    “…a joint gift…” And I scroll down and see what appears to be a cigar box. Surely someone didn’t gift you a box of reefers?
    And then I read on…:-)
    Happy New Year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

