Progressing Sideways

I mentioned in a previous post that I have been collecting maps of places I have lived. This week I did some experimenting with book structures for the project. I want to do some stitching on the pages, so using a form that hides the ‘wrong’ side of the page would be a good idea. I came up with a unit that looks like this:

The page is double, with the fold at the left side, and the arrow is a single layer.

The arrows would be stitched down in the final version, but I did a quick model using a glue stick to see how it would work.

If the wrong sides of the pages were glued together they would look better, though when I attached the arrow from the last unit to the first page the structure was quite stable without that step.

Since I am planning this book as my entry for this year’s weloveyourbooks juried exhibition, intersect 2017, I thought it might be a good idea to push the idea of intersection further. I tried another model with the arrows inserted through a double page version of my first unit.

I like this idea, but it needs more work. It didn’t get it because something came in the mail and I got side-tracked.

A couple of weeks ago David came home from Lee Valley with a present for me. In the discount bin he had found some 18 mm rotary cutter blades. Instead of cutting a continuous line, the blades had gaps so that they cut intermittently. I was delighted with the idea of cutting tear-strip closures for books. No one in Saskatoon carried the handles for the 18 mm blades. (This may be part of the reason the blades were marked down.) I had to order one from Toronto. Of course, when I got the handle I had to try it out, just to make sure it worked.

It took a few tries to get things working smoothly: the paper (not too surprisingly) tears more easily if the slotted line is cut parallel to the grain of the paper rather than across it, and it helps to fold the slotted line back and forth to weaken the fibres between the slots.

Having worked all that out, my brain refused to return to thinking about intersect 2017 and went off on a tangent. Here is a sneak peek at the results so far.

Political Promises is an open edition artist’s book designed like a Matryoshka doll. The envelopes will be closed by glued-on tear strips in contrasting colours. I have the strips printed but not yet cut and slotted.

I should have some finished copies to show you next week. Perhaps I will even get more work done on my ‘intersect’ book!


In other book arts news:

Finnish book artist/poet Kaija Rantakari (Paperiaarre) has produced a new work: vastness suddenly. You can read about her process here and the finished work here.


And in local news:

It has been unseasonably warm recently and what little snow was left has turned to ice, so a particularly fluffy snowfall on Friday afternoon was welcome. I even went out on the front porch to take a picture.

When David came in a few minutes later he asked if the cat was out. I said no, why did he ask? He said he heard the porch door close while he was standing in the doorway of his workshop taking a picture of the snow.  ; ]

I mailed off a number of parcels recently and did not remove the leftover packing materials from the guest bed in our study quickly enough. My lovely assistant Kemuri has  decided that it is a cat nest.

When she gets bored with it —probably when Spring truly arrives— or I do, I will have to discard the bubble pack. I could probably wipe off the cat hair, but Kemuri has licked it all over quite thoroughly, and I am not sure about the archival qualities of cat saliva.

 

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, Design and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Progressing Sideways

  1. Kaija says:

    Thank you so much for featuring vastness suddenly in your blog post! I always enjoy your posts and the glimpses of your creative process!

    Like

  2. Pingback: A New Book: Political Promises | Byopia Press

Leave a Reply

