Life in Circles

Occasionally I notice that my life is recursive: things appear, then disappear, then return –a bit of déja vu all over again.

In August of 1996, I attended (as a guest) the combined 114th meeting of the American Ornithologists Union and the annual meeting of the Raptor Research Foundation in Boise, Idaho. I enjoyed a number of the presentations, but there was a special treat at the Idaho Center for The Book: an exhibition of artist’s books. It was my first encounter with what is now commonly called a kaleidocycle. Viewers were offered a plan for a ‘kaleidagon’ to take home. I still have mine, a little the worse for wear.

I filed it away, not having any need for it at that time.

A few years ago a friend and I briefly played with the idea of creating a kaleidagon using some of her photographs. The project was never completed, but I did file the link to a printable plan that I found on a website called Enchanted Learning. It was called a ‘3-D hexaflexagon’.

And then I forgot about it.

On February 19th, Paula Beardell Krieg published a post called Kaleidocycles and Tetrahedrons and there it was again. The post included information on a fabulous pop-up version by Simon Arizpe.

I could not resist. (I really didn’t try very hard!) I ordered a copy and it arrived this week. It is just as wonderful as it looked on the internet.

Here’s a video of it in action:

 

 

You can see more pictures of The Wild (and perhaps purchase your own copy) here.

I wasn’t the only person who read Paula’s post on kaleidocycles: Kaija Rantakari (Papiaarre) was inspired to make her own version.

You can read her post and watch a video of The End in action here.

Perhaps it is time for me to do something with the structure!


In other book arts-related news:

Graviky Labs, an Indian start-up, is making ink from air pollution.

You can read about it here.

Also ink-related, you can pre-order a copy of the Novo Typo Color Book here.

You can read more about Mark van Wageningen and his design manifesto propounding the use of colour in typography here.

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, Design, moveable books, typography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

