Sort of Spring

Last Sunday afternoon was warm enough that we went with a friend on an Expotition to Bright Water Marsh to see if the geese were there yet. There were only a few so we drove to Blackstrap Lake (which is actually a reservoir), but it was still frozen. The sun was warm and we found a spot on a hillside somewhat sheltered from the wind and had an early picnic supper.

We also found one of the prairie signs of spring.

By the end of the week the temperature was 21°C (70°F) and David was chopping wood with his shirt off. This morning it is -2°C (28°F) and snowing. Spring in Saskatchewan.

I’ve made some progress on the memory maps piece, but since I plan to enter it in the Dimensions 2017 juried exhibition I won’t show you much more until the selections have been made. I have pierced central squares for the front panels, mounted them using a template, and re-pierced so that the holes go through the larger sheet.

I printed out a grid for the piece so I can plan the colours of the stitching.

I have also done some planning for a work that will be in a show in June. Tentatively titled If I could save time in a bottle, it will consist of 100 small corked bottles. Each bottle will be labelled with a time and date.

Because I cannot generate 100 clearly identified moments from memory, I resorted to a random date generator I found on the internet. Here’s one of the lists.

I will replace some of the random generator’s dates with my own, like 1958/07/18/16:45 which is the approximate time I was sitting on our front stoop in Montreal watching it rain across the street and realised that clouds have edges.

The bottles will be displayed as a group for the show, but will ultimately be an edition of 24 artist’s books (plus a copy for the Byopia Press archives) with a different set of four bottles in each copy.

Because it is April I have also started the annual pre-income tax book-keeping, copying numbers from here

to here.

Guess what I’ll be doing this afternoon? Boring.


In other book arts news:

April is National Poetry Month in both the U.S.A. and Canada.

Forsythia, Mary Ellen Solt, 1965

You might find this post from The Getty Iris interesting: The Borderless Wordplay of Concrete Poetry.

Susan Mill’s April 5 podcast is an interview with Marshall Weber who co-curated the first “Diamond Leaves Triennial” exhibition at the Central Academy of Fine Arts Museum in Beijing with Chinese artist Xu Bing.


In knitting news:

I am close to completing the shawl knit from the cheap grey cotton. (I started it on our Expotition last Sunday afternoon, and I have decided to christen it Dollar Store Diva.) In fact I would have been finished if I hadn’t had trouble with the bind-off. I did it the first time using a lace (Russian) method, but it wasn’t quite stretchy enough. I undid it and re-knit the bind-off adding extra stitches wherever there was a yarn over (hole) in the previous row. Stretchy enough, but the edge curls up towards the right side (outside, as indicated by the green pointy finger) of the shawl and I am not sure that any amount of blocking will correct that sufficiently.

After supper this evening I will be undoing the edge again and re-doing it so that it curls the other way.   ; ]

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in artist's books, book arts, installation and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sort of Spring

  1. Hilke says:

    The memory bottles book sounds very interesting, I shall be looking out for more!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Little Boxes | Byopia Press

Leave a Reply

