A DIY Easter Bunny

I am posting a day early because tomorrow morning I will be busy cooking turkey and accompaniments for a 1 p.m. Easter Dinner.

Yesterday’s Friday Night Flick was my 300th post. In celebration (and because it is seasonally appropriate) here is my printable DIY Easter Bunny. Actually it turned out to be more of an Easter hare, which is geographically appropriate. We often see snowshoe hares (sometimes referred to as bush bunnies) and jackrabbits, but no real rabbits.

This is the test bunny I made.

You can download a printable pdf here.

I printed mine on 67# (145 gsm) cover stock, but something a little heavier might work better. If you use heavier card you will have to make the slits a little wider when you come to that step.

Cut out the parts for one bunny and (optional) egg.

Pierce a small hole at the interior end of each dotted line: three holes on the head/body, one each on ears, forelegs, and hindlegs. (One of the holes is indicated by a pink pointy finger on the image above.) Cut from the holes to the outer edge along the dotted line. (This is where you will need to make two cuts to allow for the extra thickness if you are using heavier card stock.)

Score a line down the middle of each ear, then gently fold edges forward to make the shape more natural for a bunny.

Fold the hind legs and forelegs in half: hind legs fold forward, forelegs fold down. Insert leg and ear parts in appropriate slots in head/body part.

After assembly you can further adjust the extremities to create a more natural look. I added bends in the forelegs and tilted one of the ears.

You can draw on or colour the bunny and egg. If you want to make bunny place cards for Easter Dinner, you can write a name on the egg. (If you are using the bunnies this way I would suggest gluing the egg to the bunny for stability.)

You can also print the bunnies on coloured paper,

or use several colours and create harlequin rabbits. (Who knows what an Easter bunny really looks like?!)

When I was cutting out bunnies, I noted the resemblance of the head/body part to both gophers and kangaroos. If you made the hind legs bigger, the forelegs shorter, the ears slightly shorter, the nose a little longer, and cut a long tail you would have a kangaroo. If you made the ears much smaller and rounder, the tail thinner, and shortened the forelegs, you could have an Easter gopher, which would also be appropriate for where I live.  There are six bunnies on a sheet so you have some spare parts to play with. Have fun!

If you prefer folding paper to cutting it, there is an excellent origami instruction video on Paper Kawaii. Her bunnies look like this:

My first attempt looks like this,

and resembles an armadillo more than a bunny, especially when seen in profile. I used pastel paper which was probably a bit heavy but allowed me to re-do some of the folds a number of times. I still don’t have the ear/head/neck relationship right. The instructions are excellent, but the folding is a more interpretive style and not the mathematical creasing I am used to.

Or if you just want some pretty bunny paper to use for origami or to wrap something small, you can find some here. The 150 dpi downloads are free. I test printed one and it worked just fine on standard cheap printer paper.


In book arts news:

I pledged for another Kickstarter two weeks ago —W. A. Dwiggins: A Life in Design. It has now reached almost triple the original funding goal with two weeks remaining until the deadline. If you are interested in the history of American design, lettering, typography, stencil/pochoir illustration, or even marionettes, you might want to check it out.


And in knitting news:

Dollar Store Diva is finished, blocked, and ready to wear —when the weather warms up again! The edge is much better after re-knitting, blocking, and the judicious application of a steam iron. (If I am going to do more lace knitting that requires ‘hard’ blocking, I will need a better system than laying things out on the washer and dryer and pulling them into shape repeatedly as they dry!)

About Byopia Press

I have been working in the book arts field for more than twenty years, and operating Byopia Press with my husband David since the late 1990s. I began producing artist's books and altered books in 2004.
This entry was posted in Design, DIY, free printable, instructions, publishing, typography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A DIY Easter Bunny

  1. lcmt says:

    The W. A. Dwiggins is stunning! Love it! Happy Easter!

    Like

    • Byopia Press says:

      I actually forked over for the book. I did not recognize his name initially, but I remember his style from publications I saw as a child. And Happy Easter to you too! (It’s snowing a bit again here. ; ] )

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

